

MASON DIXON TASK FORCE, INC.

c/o Adams County Office of Planning and Development 670 Old Harrisburg Road Gettysburg, Pennsylvania 17325

Robert Thaeler, Chairperson

Memorandum

Date: February 14, 2019

To: Mason Dixon Task Force

From: Clare Stewart, Vice-Chairperson

Subject: Minutes, Thursday, February 7, 2019

Host: Carroll County Department of Planning, Westminster, MD

Attendees:

Voting Members		Non-Voting Attendees	
Robert Thaeler	Adams County	Sherri Clayton-Williams	Adams County
Erin Watts	Baltimore County	Anusree Nair	Carroll County
Clare Stewart	Carroll County	Arco Sen	Carroll County
Carrie Conwell	Chester County	Bobbi Moser	Carroll County
Moe Davenport	Harford County	Darby Metcalf	Carroll County
Terry Ruby	York County	Lynda Eisenberg	Carroll County
		Mary Lane	Carroll County
		Pat Varga	Carroll County
		Tony McClune	Emeritus Member

The following are the Minutes for the Thursday, February 7, 2019 meeting of the Mason Dixon Task Force. The meeting was hosted by the Carroll County Department of Planning at their office in Westminster, Maryland. Chairperson Robert Thaeler of Adams County opened the meeting at 10:10am.

I. Welcome and Introductions

Robert Thaeler opened the meeting with a welcome, attendees introduced themselves.

II. Administrative

a. Correspondence – Resignation Letter of Jason Boothe

Effective January 25, 2019 Jason Boothe, of Cecil County, has resigned his positions as the Vice Chairperson of the Mason Dixon Task Force. All correspondence from the Task Force to Cecil County should be directed to Mr. David Black of the Department of Land Use and Development Services.

b. Election of 2019 Officers

Rob Thaeler asked for a nomination for Vice Chairperson to replace the Nominating Committee's (Moe Davenport, Terry Ruby, and Erin Watts) recommendation of Jason Boothe. Clare Stewart nominated herself as Vice Chairperson. A motion to elect the following Officers for 2019 was made by Terry Ruby, seconded by Erin Watts. The motion was approved unanimously by the Task Force.

Chairperson – Robert Thaeler, Adams County Vice Chairperson – Clare Stewart, Carroll County Treasurer – Carrie Conwell, Chester County

c. Minutes of November 1, 2018 Meeting

A motion to approve the November 1, 2018 Meeting Minutes was made by Moe Davenport, seconded by Terry Ruby. The motion was approved unanimously by the Task Force.

d. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer, Carrie Conwell, reported a balance of \$7,791.55 as of January 12, 2018, and a balance of \$7,795.44 as of January 11, 2019. Between January 2018 and January 2019 a total of \$3.89 in interest was deposited into the Mason Dixon Task Force account.

A motion to approve the 2018 Treasurer's Report was made by Terry Ruby, seconded by Erin Watts. The motion was approved unanimously by the Task Force.

e. Report of Auditing Committee

Moe Davenport, Clare Stewart, and Erin Watts of the Auditing Committee reported that the Treasurer's Report was accurate and there were no discrepancies.

A motion to approve the 2018 Report of Auditing Committee was made by Moe Davenport, seconded by Terry Ruby. The motion was approved unanimously by the Task Force.

f. Meeting Schedule (April 2019-February 2020)

April 11, 2019 – Terry Ruby, York County August 8, 2019 – Robert Thaeler, Adams County November 14, 2019 – Carrie Conwell, Chester County February 13, 2020 – Clare Stewart, Carroll County

III. Review Discussion Summary – Future of Mason Dixon Task Force

Robert Thaeler welcomed any comments on the Discussion Summary of the Future of Mason Dixon Task Force.

Erin Watts stated that she is questioning her membership for Baltimore County. As the Task Force has expressed the desire to move forward with a framework of both planning and water resources management, her current position as a Natural Resource Specialist may not coincide with the direction of the Task Force, There was discussion of a planner from Baltimore County joining the Task Force.

Terry Ruby mentioned that she may be retiring in August of 2019 and will work on finding a replacement for York County membership.

Clare Stewart asked if there had been any movement on inviting additional counties to join the Task Force. It was decided that Clare Stewart would reach out to Frederick County, and Moe Davenport would reach out to Lancaster and New Castle Counties, and Delaware. Robert Thaeler mentioned that the City of Havre De Grace was interested in knowing more about the Task Force.

IV. Discussion – Future Host County Program

Robert Thaeler welcomed discussion of the idea of a longer joint meeting/host county program during the August 8, 2019 meeting in Adams County. Additional discussion and ideas may be brought forward at the April 11, 2019 meeting in York County.

Carrie Conwell mentioned the possibility of Chester County providing the History of the Mason Dixon Line as a future host county program.

V. Carroll County Presentations

a. Countywide Comprehensive Rezoning

Presentation by Lynda Eisenberg, Director, Carroll County Department of Planning

b. Cascade Lake/Dam Flooding and Restoration

Presentation by Pat Varga, Floodplain Management Specialist, Carroll County Department of Land and Resource Management.

VI. County Updates

No County updates were discussed at this meeting.

VII. Topics for Next Meeting

Terry Ruby opened the idea of a presentation on the York County Watershed Improvement Plan (WIP) at the upcoming April 11, 2019 meeting in York County. Robert Thaeler and Terry Ruby will discuss topics for the upcoming meeting offline.

VIII. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by _____, seconded by _____. The motion was approved unanimously by the Task Force, and the meeting was adjourned as 12:10pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Clare Stewart Vice-Chairperson